Business Model Canvas Workflow

Complete guide to creating your Business Model Canvas including value proposition, customer segments, revenue streams, and cost structure

The Business Model Canvas workflow guides you through creating a comprehensive business model that covers all aspects of how your startup creates, delivers, and captures value.

Overview#

PropertyValue
Phases3
TierFree
Typical Duration1-2 weeks
Best ForEarly-stage planning, investor prep, strategy alignment

What is the Business Model Canvas?#

The Business Model Canvas is a strategic tool that describes how your organization creates, delivers, and captures value. It consists of 9 building blocks:

┌─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐ │ BUSINESS MODEL CANVAS │ ├───────────────────┬─────────────────────────────────┬───────────────────────────┤ │ │ │ │ │ 8. KEY PARTNERS │ 7. KEY ACTIVITIES │ 1. VALUE PROPOSITIONS │ │ │ │ │ │ Who are our key │ What key activities do │ What value do we │ │ partners and │ our value propositions │ deliver to the │ │ suppliers? │ require? │ customer? │ │ ├─────────────────────────────────┤ │ │ │ │ │ │ │ 6. KEY RESOURCES │ │ │ │ │ │ │ │ What key resources do │ │ │ │ our value propositions │ │ │ │ require? │ │ │ │ │ │ ├───────────────────┴─────────────────────────────────┼───────────────────────────┤ │ │ │ │ 9. COST STRUCTURE │ 5. REVENUE STREAMS │ │ │ │ │ What are the most important costs │ For what value are our │ │ inherent in our business model? │ customers willing to pay?│ │ │ │ └─────────────────────────────────────────────────────┴───────────────────────────┘ │ │ │ │ 4. CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIPS │ 2. CUSTOMER SEGMENTS │ │ │ │ │ What type of relationship does │ For whom are we │ │ each customer segment expect? │ creating value? │ │ │ │ ├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤ │ │ │ │ │ 3. CHANNELS │ │ │ │ │ │ Through which channels do our │ │ │ customer segments want to be reached? │ │ │ │ │ └─────────────────────────────────────────────────────┴───────────────────────────┘

Phases#

Phase 1: Customer & Value (3-4 days)#

Agents: business-analyst

Define who you serve and what value you provide.

Tasks:

  • Define customer segments
  • Create value proposition canvas
  • Map customer jobs, pains, gains
  • Align value proposition to customer needs

Customer Segments Template:

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Value Proposition Canvas:

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Phase 2: Delivery & Relationships (3-4 days)#

Agents: business-analyst, ui-ux-expert

Define how you reach and serve customers.

Tasks:

  • Map distribution channels
  • Define customer relationships
  • Identify key activities
  • Identify key resources
  • Identify key partners

Channels Template:

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Customer Relationships Template:

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Key Activities, Resources, Partners:

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Phase 3: Financial Model (3-4 days)#

Agents: business-analyst

Define how you make money and what it costs.

Tasks:

  • Design revenue model
  • Define pricing strategy
  • Calculate unit economics
  • Project cost structure
  • Model financial scenarios

Revenue Streams Template:

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Cost Structure Template:

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Unit Economics:

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LTV = ARPA × Gross Margin × Lifetime LTV = $50 × 0.85 × 20 = $850

### LTV:CAC Ratio

LTV:CAC = $850 / $15.45 = 55:1

**Target:** > 3:1 for healthy SaaS business **Our ratio:** 55:1 (excellent, but validate at scale) ### Payback Period

Payback = CAC / (ARPA × Gross Margin) Payback = $15.45 / ($50 × 0.85) = 0.36 months

**Target:** < 12 months **Our payback:** < 1 month (excellent)

Complete Business Model Canvas#

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Starting the Workflow#

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Deliverables#

A successful Business Model Canvas workflow produces:

  • Customer segment definitions
  • Value proposition canvas
  • Channel strategy
  • Customer relationship plan
  • Revenue model and pricing
  • Cost structure analysis
  • Unit economics (LTV, CAC)
  • Complete Business Model Canvas

Best Practices#

  1. Start with the customer - Segments and value props first
  2. Validate assumptions - Test with real customers
  3. Keep it simple - Start with one segment, one channel
  4. Iterate regularly - Canvas should evolve with learning
  5. Connect the boxes - Ensure coherence across canvas
  6. Know your numbers - Unit economics guide decisions

Common Pitfalls#

  • Building canvas without customer validation
  • Too many customer segments (focus!)
  • Unrealistic revenue projections
  • Ignoring true cost of acquisition
  • Not revisiting as you learn